The question has been up in the air for a while now and we have now gotten our answer. Potter, Carson and Armstrong counties have temporarily banned the sale and use of any fireworks. These counties made a disaster declaration to Perry, and waiting on approval for a 30 day extension to reach through the July 4th holiday. Randall County has made no such declaration.

National Weather Service figures show the first five months of this year are the driest this area has experienced since they started collecting data in 1890. Amarillo has received .68 of an inch of rain this year. Far less than the 9.3 received by this time last year.

The drought, dry winds and heat have fueled wildfires all across the area and this ban on the sale and use of fireworks has those people in mind. This year alone, there have been 82 homes destroyed in the area due to wildfires and the 4th of July celebration is a threat that frightens area law makers.