Stop your copying and pasting.

Every few months, a panic spreads across the Facebook world that causes thousands of people to update their statuses to something along the lines of:

Deadline tomorrow !!! Everything you've ever posted becomes public from tomorrow. Even messages that have been deleted or the photos not allowed. It costs nothing for a simple copy and paste, better safe than sorry. Channel 13 News talked about the change in Facebook's privacy policy. I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, messages or posts, both past and future. With this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute). NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates. DO NOT SHARE. Copy and paste

Where this story originates, nobody knows. And no matter how many times it's debunked, people fall for it again and again.

To set the record straight, Facebook is not going to start charging you to have a profile or share your private information with the public. This is a hoax.

However, when you signed up for Facebook, you agreed to the terms and conditions. There are certain privacy statements that give Facebook permission to use anything you have willingly posted on the site to promote itself.

The Facebook Terms and Conditions are available for everyone to read if you feel the need to double check.

Anyway, unless you see a message specifically from Facebook, you're probably not in danger of having your profile infiltrated.